15 Books by Midnight December 31, 2011

Mistress of the Art of Death by Ariana Franklin

 

1. The Mistress of the Art of Death  by Ariana Franklin. It’s a murder mystery set in the 1100s. King Henry II romps around yelling, a woman who is basically a Medieval version of Temperance Bones solves murders and falls in love with a future Bishop, and crazy murderers travel from Outremer to Cambridgeshire in Crusader wear. It was quite pleasant.

 

The Spearwielder's Tale by R.A. Salvatore

2-4. The Spearwielder’s Tale  by R.A. Salvatore

It’s three books in one volume: The Woods Out Back, The Dragon’s Dagger, Dragonslayer’s Return. So far I’m enjoying it.

(From here the list isn’t necessarily in order… just will be read)

The Girl Who Fell from the Sky by Heidi W. Durrow

5. The Girl Who Fell From the Sky by Heidi W. Durrow. The very nice woman at Inkwood Books suggested this book to me after I told her of my goal and explained that I have a wide reading taste. It’s a pretty bizarre premise but altogether removed from anything else I’ve read this year. So, I’m interested.

Lost in a Good Book: A Thursday Next Novel by Jasper Fforde

6. Lost in a Good Book: A Thursday Next Novel by Jasper Fforde. I read the first one of these a year or more ago. The premise is interesting. She’s part of a time-traveling police force that can jump into Literature and she often has to in order to track down villains who would CHANGE THE PLOTS OF LITERATURE.

For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway

7. For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway. Because, you know, I seem hellbent on torturing myself.

Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

8. Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. I’ve wanted to read this movie ever since I heard John Cusack mentioned it in High Fidelity.

Hey, I’m not the smartest guy in the world, but I’m certainly not the dumbest. I mean, I’ve read books like “The Unbearable Lightness of Being” and “Love in the Time of Cholera”, and I think I’ve understood them. They’re about girls, right? Just kidding. But I have to say my all-time favorite book is Johnny Cash’s autobiography “Cash” by Johnny Cash.

High Fidelity is one of my All Time Top Five Favourite films… and the novel of the same name by Nick Hornby is top in my books. I, too, have read The Unbearable Lightness of Being. Cash by Johnny Cash was on my library list for a long time. I figured it was time to give LITTOC a shot. We’ll see how it goes.

(these next few still fall into the realm of possibilities

Eragon by Chistopher Paolini

 

Eldest by Christopher Paolini
Brisinger by Christopher Paolini
Inheritance by Christopher Paolini

9-12.  Fellow blogger Geoff over at The Oddness of Moving Things just re-reviewed all four of these books and posted info about them on Goodreads. What got my attention the most was how young Christopher was when he started writing the series when he was 15. Christopher is about four years older than me and has been a published author for nine years now. So, he interests me.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

13. Obviously this book is ALL THE RAGE with the American adaptation coming out soon. I’m intrigued. I’ve heard good things. I’ve tried reading a Swedish novel once before but during another time which I might have been too ambitious in my book list. So, again, we’ll see.

Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh

14. I enjoyed this movie and this list needs some classing up sort of… it’s between this and Atonement

Swamplandia by Karen Russell

15. Swamplandia by Karen Russell. It’s about Florida. I’m from Florida. Could be interesting.

 

What about you guys? Any suggestions from my loyal readers? Or advice? Chime in. Chime in.

5 thoughts on “15 Books by Midnight December 31, 2011

  1. I’m normally a fan of GGM, but “Love in the Time of Cholera” was not my favorite. Have you read “One Hundred Years of Solitude”? I really liked that one a lot. Actually, now that I think about it, that’s the only book of his I’ve read, but I loved it so much that I consider myself a fan of his work 🙂

  2. Lauren, I feel like such a punk for not responding to these for so long. No, “Love…” will be my first GGM… But I’ll make sure to add “One Hundred Years” to 2012 for sure. And “The Mistress…” was a great romp. King Henry II was very stompy and angry and brilliant and the main character is just the right shade of quirk that we’ve come to expect from crime solvers.

    Any books you’re looking forward to reading after graduation?

Leave a Reply

