a shadowy game

Sherlock Holmes, A Game of Shadows

I’ve never been great at riddles. Though I think I’ve mentioned before that I used to race my dad when we watched crime dramas or movies built on mysteries and twists. The past few years I’ve been pleased when a movie manages to trick me, to keep me on tenterhooks so to speak. But if you give me one of those “How is a raven like a writing desk?” riddles I just sit back and wait for someone else to answer them.

I wouldn’t make a very good Sherlock Holmes.

Today I saw Mr. Ritchie’s newest installment to the legend created by Sir Conan Doyle and I just had to use this venue to gush about how enthralling I found the movie. I’m not a Holmes purist by any means, I haven’t read any of the novels featuring him as of yet. So, opinions being like belly buttons I realize that my endorsement leaves somethings to be desired.

And I’m not a movie critic. I could tell you the chase scene through a forest in Germany was one of the most beautiful scenes I’ve seen in film. I could tell you I absolutely love how Guy Ritchie translates Holmes and Watson’s adventures to the screen. And I quite enjoyed Mr. Stephen Fry as Mycroft Holmes.

It’s solid entertainment. And I mean that’s what most of us go to the movies for. Right? Brief transport to an alternate universe where nothing boring ever happens.

THE END ?

One thought on “a shadowy game

Leave a Reply

