another challenge

I’m subscribed to a couple other book review blogs and I’m always pretty excited when I get an email from one of them letting me know they’ve put something new up. One in particular is The Oddness of Moving Things. Everytime Geoff writes a post I get excited. And his blog is so well organized. He even inspired my “bookshelf” page that I need to either update or take down because it’s sort of sad really.

Anyway, yesterday he posted something about another book challenge he’s doing next year. Basically, different communities of bloggers have come up with different sorts of challenges each year to encourage readers to read books in certain genres or form certain time periods. This one that he announced he’s doing really caught my attention and I decided to get involved, too. So, here’s the official announcement:

Tea & Books Reading Challenge

The challenge is inspired by the C.S. Lewis quote

You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”

I think I copied this into a journal somewhere and added that for me it would be a glass of coca cola…Anyway, the challenge is to read books that clock in OVER 700 pages. So, I searched through my booklist via the Hillsborough County Public Library and Goodreads… and disheartened to find that my first two choices fell short by about 40 pages. (So, I’ll probably still read them, but they don’t count 😦 ).

I did land on two books that I’m satisfied with (and it seems I’m not the only one using this as an excuse to read George R.R. Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series). I tend to be cautious rather than overly ambitious and since I have no idea what 2012 has in store for me I’d rather estimate on the low end and not be disappointed. So, I’m participating at the Earl Grey Lover level… which means 2 books. My choices (as of right now) are Fyodor Dostoyevsky’s The Brother’s Karamazov and George R.R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones.

I know, I know, another dead Russian novelist…

I have from January 1st until December 31st to read both of these. Which should not be a problem. And if I continue to have the time/the desire I may “upgrade”. Though I’m almost inconsolably bummed that We, the Drowned is too short. Oh well.

 

As you’re reading this I’m most likely sitting in what was once known as the Ice Palace watching three friends graduate from The University of South Florida. I’m really excited for them. And a little melancholy that it’s not me. So, that’s really the biggest challenge for 2012.

Anyway, happy Friday. See you next week.

7 thoughts on “another challenge

  1. I have loads of thick 700+ books on my shelf and I’m taking this opportunity to read through them. So I challenged myself to read eight… gulp. I was thinking of reading The Game of Thrones too but I only have it as an ebook and that doesn’t really feel the same.

    Good luck with this challenge.

    1. Yeah there’s something to watching the movement of my bookmark through those behemoth books tha helps me to stay focused and finish them. So the eReader just isn’t the same. But I’m impressed by your choice to read 8. Have you picked them all yet? And good luck to you as well! Let me know how the reading goes.

      1. I have several chosen as they’re part of other challenges I’m doing or readalongs with friends.

        Our Mutual Friend by Dickens, 1q84 by Murakami, The Swarm by Frank Schatzing, Otherland #2 by Tad Williams and a couple of others. I think I know about 5 of them so far… but not all of them.

        The Passage may be one of them. I don’t want to tie myself down completely. I have quite a few gathering on my shelves so plenty of choice.

      2. I just took a gander at all of the challenges your participating in. I’m impressed. You seem to have a pretty well diversified set of lists. I’ll definitely be following along as you review them. Good luck again 🙂

  2. I’m searching for challenges and I came across this post. I read a 400+ page book for the first time this year. It took me a month and I said that I’d never read a book that long again! I do have a few books on my TBR list that are longer than that but 700 pages!? I think I’d be too intimidated to ever pick a book that big up off of the shelf! How long does it take you to read a 700 page book?

    1. Well Anna Karenina took me about four months. But I blame most of that on the tedious content. I just went through The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo in the paperback version and it was around 600 something pages and it only took me three days. (And it still had some fairly tedious parts). So, 700, depending on the content could take me anywhere from a couple days to a whole summer. I think the best way to get through a brick that big is some solidarity. Knowing that someone somewhere else is reading alongside you, or has suffered through it before helps it move a little more quickly.

      If you do pick a book definitely let me know! It’d be great to know another person participating and we could encourage each other 🙂

  3. I can’t believe I missed this post! I feel so loved 😀 (I was in a seminar today and we were talking about googling ourselves and I realized I hadn’t done it in a while and this came up!) Bookshelf page looks like you’ve done some work since this post!

    How’s your challenge going so far?

Leave a Reply

