In 2003, Donald Miller gave us BLUE LIKE JAZZ: non-religious thoughts on Christian spirituality. As the book gained momentum, the process of turning it into a screenplay began. However, in 2010, the film was put on hold indefinitely due to a lack of funding. Fortunately, the people spoke. A campaign was launched called Save Blue Like Jazz. In less than 30 days, $345,992 was raised, effectively putting BLUE LIKE JAZZ THE MOVIE into production. It takes more than one person to tell a good story… in this case it took 4495.

Tuesday, September 30th at 3 pm I was at Enzian Theatre to see a rough cut screening of Blue Like Jazz The Movie. My friend Lauren was gracious enough to ride along in my air-condition-less car as we trekked across the state and braved a pretty evil looking storm.

When we arrived I felt like I was walking into hipster haven. The theatre is set in the middle of Winter Park (somewhere I’d like to live at some point). It was a fairly small crowd. Cameron Strang and Jamie Tworkowski, the founders of RELEVANT magazine and To Write Love on Her Arms respectively, were there. Steve Taylor and Don Miller introduced the movie and made us promise not to write any reviews about the movie yet.

So, I can’t write a review. And I don’t know when the movie is supposed to be released. But I do know this: when it does come out I’m going to drag each and every one of you to see it. Because I was part of that 4,495 people who believed in the story and who believed in the movie. I believe that sometimes we lose sight of where our stories are going and what role God plays in our story. I believe that sometimes all it takes is someone reminding you of the correct perspective.

If you haven’t read it, or it’s been awhile, grab a copy of Blue Like Jazz and then grab A Million Miles in a Thousand Years. The latter is one of those books that forces a change of perspective upon you.

2 thoughts on “Not a Review

  1. I’m afraid to say anything right now, because I know that if I open my metaphorical online mouth that I won’t be able to stop talking about the movie. But, yes. You get all the smileys

    😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

