Some Suggested Reads

I thought I’d give you guys a quick rundown of some books that I’ve really enjoyed and probably won’t review on here. Check em out. And if you have any suggestions for me drop a note in the comments below.

Juliet, Naked by Nick Hornby

 

This is Nick Hornby’s most recent novel. It was released in 2009. It follows a sort of obsessive music fan and his intransigent, mismatched live-in girlfriend. She winds up meeting the man her boyfriend is obsessed with and discovering that sometimes heroes are not all they’re cracked up to be. I enjoyed the nerdy music fandom dissection. The wry humor about obsession with celebrity. It’s solid Hornby.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Talking to Girls about Duran Duran by Rob Sheffield

In this follow up to Love is a Mixtape (but really a prequel of sorts) Rob talks about what it was like growing up with the phenomenon of 80s pop music. It was an education for me, for sure. If nothing else I’ve now seen more creepy music videos than I could have ever cared to see… Need some proof? Watch this one. Anyway, it was pleasantly nostalgic and a bit happier than Love is a Mixtape (a book that I still love tremendously).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

 

I really, really love this book. It was given to me a few years ago by a former student of mine. Since then I’ve read it several times and even did a presentation on it for my YA Lit class last semester. It’s a powerful little book. They’re currently making it a movie (with a stellar cast). I’m currently pressing this book on my youngest sister since I know she loves all that mopey teen lit. It was published in 1999 by MTV books, but that shouldn’t turn you away. Read it. Then talk to a kid about it. Books bringing people together, whoda thunk it?

 

 

 

 

 

Emily of New Moon
Emily of New Moon by L.M. Montgomery

 

Ok, first of all I have to say I love these new covers and I might have to invest in getting these new printings. The original Emily series was given to me by a teacher when I was in middle school. Now, you may be much more familiar with Montgomery’s famous red-headed Anne of Green Gables. I’ll be honest, I’ve only seen the movies but I absolutely devoured these books. Emily enchanted me with her elfin features. She’s a classic Montgomery heroine with a love of books and writing as well as the bad habit of always getting into trouble but being dearly loved. It has been years since I’ve read them so they might be terrible, but I remember so much enchantment in the scenery and the odd Victorian plot twists.

 

 

 

 

The Magicians
The Magicians by Lev Grossman
The Magician King
The Magician King by Lev Grossman

 

 

I’ve just finished The Magician King by Lev Grossman which is a sequel that is all over the interwebs and has won some sort of award for stand out fantasy fiction. For the most part I enjoyed it, definitely more so than the first The Magicians. Apparently it’s number two in a trilogy, so we’ll see how that turns out.

 

 

 

 

Tomorrow I will be telling you about some awesome sunscreen. And I’ll be reading more of Fitzgerald’s The Beautiful and the Damned (Sidenote: that novel was mentioned in One Day which made me feel a bit odd). Wish me luck that the weather will stay clear.

 

Leave a Reply

