TCON and why I love accronyms

There once was a boy named Eustace Clarence Scrubb and he almost deserved it.

Yesterday I talked a little bit about my favourite book in The Chronicles of Narnia and fantasy. Today, I wanted to share more with you about a couple series that really made me the reader that I am today.

I’ve come across several people who credit the Harry Potter series with teaching them a love for reading. As I’ve talked about on here before I can’t really remember a time when I didn’t love books. I was familiar with The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe very early in my life. But only that one. We had a VHS copy of an animated version of the story and I spent a lot of time in my childhood watching that movie. Then one Sunday morning at church this little girl sitting next to me had this book called The Magician’s Nephew. The cover looked intriguing to me so I asked her about it. She told me it was like TLTWaTW but from before it. I think this was the first time I heard about there being series of books. It sort of freaked me out. I knew the story-line of Aslan and the four Pevensies so well it threw me that there could be MORE to the story. So I asked my mom about them. It must have been close to Christmas/My Birthday because I received the whole set in a box pretty soon after. And then I read them.

The books used to be in a lot better shape. They’ve seen a lot of wear and tear, especially after Camille reached the appropriate age to start reading them. I’ve read them almost annually since I first got them. I was terribly excited about the live action movie versions (though now quite disillusioned, I’ve tried to develop a better attitude about movie adaptations).

The Chronicles of Narnia were highly formative in my early life. I believe I first read the whole series around the age of nine. Allegory and parables made sense to me from a very early age. It’s something I’ve taken for granted most of my life, and even then I had no idea that I was being introduced to concepts that I shouldn’t have really understood. As a kid, it’s feasible to read TCON as merely a fanciful fairy story… sort of like a fable… oh and then BOOM! Illumination! But I sort of always had that BOOM! Illumination!

The Voyage of the Dawn Treader was my favourite  early on because it features such grand adventure and so much creativity. But mainly, it’s the scene with Eustace as a dragon facing Aslan. The Horse and His Boy ranks pretty highly as well. Again it’s the odd scenes where the lion chases Shasta in the desert and then a kitten comforts him. Come to think of it, he gets chased by lions a couple times. I don’t know, they’re just beautiful scenes. I learned a lot about my faith from these stories. I think a lot of my peers have. They’re beautiful and magical and old-timey.

But you don’t have to take my word for it…

2 thoughts on “TCON and why I love accronyms

    1. The dragon scene will always be my favourite. And the fantasy is off the charts. Another scene I thought was great was the island where dreams come true. That blew my mind as a kid and I hope to write something that cool at some point 🙂

Leave a Reply

